• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

ab initio [RU]

Years
    • Seen May 19, 2024
    My first RMT, and entry to any metagame. This is my Rarely-Used team which I'm looking to get some feedback on. I primarily brought in Pokémon I'd seen used before with a little study on the metagame as a whole. It's only had the one battle so far in which it fared well and remained with 3 Pokémon still intact. In saying that, I'm pretty wary of the fact there's probably a lot of openings I'm missing, especially given that I'm not experienced in the RU metagame. So, let's take a look.

do the twist
    ab initio [RU]
    @ Leftovers
    Trait: Sturdy
    EVs: 252 HP / 220 Def / 36 Spe
    Relaxed Nature
    - Stealth Rock
    - Earthquake
    - Gyro Ball
    - Roar

The idea with Steelix here is to get him out early in the game and throw down some hazards. I'm anticipating the chance of being hit by a bulky water scald right off the bat so I added Sturdy. I hope to get in and get out fast with Steelix, adding roar to shove anything I don't like out later in the game. I'm considering swapping him out for something a bit better, with more coverage. Aggron comes to mind, but suggestions here would be cool.

sometimes he's angry
    ab initio [RU]
    @ Choice Band
    Trait: Pressure
    EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SAtk / 252 Spe
    Adamant Nature
    - Flare Blitz
    - ExtremeSpeed
    - Stone Edge
    - Hidden Power [Grass]