• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Attack Explanations

Years
    • Seen Aug 4, 2009
    Attack Questions / Explanations

I am new to the TCG and I have a couple of questions about how to treat some of the attacks:

1) Tauros (74/146) in Legends Awakened has an attack called "Thrash" with attack damage of 40+. Under the attack reads, "Flip a coin, if heads this attack does 40 damage plus 20 more damage. If tails, Tauros does 10 damage to itself."

Question
    • If I flip tails, do I still do 40 damage to the defending pokemon (not counting weakness or resistance). The reason I ask is because to me, the card reads "Do 40 damage to defending. Flip Coin. If heads do an additional 20 to defending, if tails do an additional 10 to itslef"; otherwise, why isn't the card a 60+, and reads, "if heads do 60 to defending, if tails do 10 to itself."
    2) Regirock (38/146) in Legends Awakened has a Poke-Power called "Regi Cycle". Once during your turn, if you have a Fighting energy card in your discard pile, you may discard 2 cards from your hand, then attach a fighting energy card from your discard pile to regirock. This power can't be used if regirock is affected by a special condition.

Question:
    • Can I still execute this if I only have 1 card in hand?
    • Can I still execute this if I already have attached an energy card to a pokemon this turn?
    3) Gilgar (94/146) in Legends Awakened has an attack "Light Poison" with an attack damage of 10. Under the attack reads, "Flip a coin, if tails, this attack does nothing, if heads, the defending pokemon is now Poisoned."

Question