• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Other Tutorial] Mouse support & Buttons (for newbies)

Years
    • Seen Jul 9, 2015
    Hello everyone!

Lately I've been trying out the Mouse System (Touch screen) and as warned it was indeed kind of hard to make it work (considering I'm a newbie at scripting).
    After tons of trials and research around I finally made it work, so I thought I'd share this small tutorial for those not-so-good at scripting like me and hopefully it'll be useful for someone.

-
    We start off by making a class (which will be needed to call the script) and inside this class we'll put the definition "Initialize" which will be the first thing to run once you execute the script.
    Inside the initialize definition we'll write "draw_button" which is another definition containing all the code to draw the button(s).

Inside "draw_button" we'll have viewport.z which, if I understood correctly, is the "priority", you'll want to set it higher than all the other stuff you may have to make the button display over all other pictures (the background, for instance).
    Once we are done drawing the button and positioning it on the screen, we'll call "update" which is another definition used to track the cursor's position and it's behavior inside the screen.

The Mouse script I'm using is the one in the wiki tutorial (by Crazyninjaguy), the other ones are pretty much similar except the functions' names may differ a little bit.