• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Theory] Scientific names of Pokémon

Arjay

#GoStags
Years
  • Apologies if this has been discussed before. As well as a lifelong Pokémon fan, I'm also a biologist and palaeontologist and lately I've been fascinated with the idea of coming up with a complete list of binomial nomenclature for every Pokémon species.

But there are many things to consider when compiling such a list. For example, do multiple Pokémon in the same evolutionary line count as the same species? So would they have the same name? Also, do I look to the real world animal kingdom for inspiration?

E.g. Wailmer and Wailord. They're based on the blue whale, so I was thinking of something like Balaenoptera sphera for Wailmer, and Balaenoptera dirigiblis for Wailord. Balaenoptera being a genus of baleen whales which includes the blue whale.

So basically, should they have the genus Balaenoptera in the first place, the same as the animals upon which they're based, or should they have a genus all of their own considering they're Pokémon and not real animals? And secondly, should they both have the same name? Obviously they would share a genus I think, but what about the full name? Are they the same Pokémon, given that Pokémon evolution appears to function basically like metamorphosis in real animals, or should they be considered two different species and thus have their own names? And then of course these questions obviously apply to all Pokémon.

Has anyone else ever thought about this, and if so what names have you come up with for certain Pokémon?

Years
    • Seen Sep 5, 2023